Media Partners | Contributors | Advertise | Contact | Log in | Tuesday 9 August 2022

Royal Television Society announces Student Television Awards nominations

7th May 2015

Share This Article:

The Royal Television Society (RTS), Britain's leading forum for television and related media, has announced the nominations for the 20th annual RTS Student Television Awards

Chaired by Stuart Murphy, Director for Sky Entertainment Channels, the Awards celebrate the best in student television across the UK.

The Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards are judged in five categories: Animation, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Factual and, new for this year, Open – for films that are a maximum of three minutes in length and of any subject matter.

For the first time, to reward excellence in craft skills, this year the Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards will be presented for Camerawork, Editing and Sound.

Students from across England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland are represented in the nominations, including those from Bangor University, Bath Spa University, Kingston University, the Royal College of Art,  Staffordshire University, the University of Central Lancashire,  the University of Leeds and the University of Salford, amongst others.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony, hosted by comedian Romesh Ranganathan, on Friday 5th June at the BFI Southbank in London.

This year, for the first time, the nominated films will be transmitted by Sky, together with highlights from the Awards ceremony.



Undergraduate Animation


Domestic Appliances

Lewis Firth Bolton

Edinburgh College of Art



Jocie Juritz

Kingston University



Rory Conway, Sammy Khalid, David Slattery and Kieran Noone

Ballyfermot College of Further Education


Undergraduate Comedy & Entertainment


Bun Oven

Genia Krassnig, Christian Cerami, Matt Tume and Team

University of Westminster



Harry Jackson, Alfred Johnson and Team

The Arts University Bournemouth 


Marital Kombat

Ally Lockhart and Team

City of Glasgow College


Undergraduate Drama



Sophie Piggott

Staffordshire University


Skunky Dog

James Fitzgerald, Paddy Slattery and Team

The National Film School, Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Dún Laoghaire


Sunday Dinner with the Morgans

Alex Forbes, Jack Pollington and Allan Armstrong

University for the Creative Arts, Farnham


Undergraduate Factual



James Dougan, Max Cutting and Dan Ridgeon

University of South Wales


The Invisible School

Hugo Pettitt and Hannah Bush Bailey

University of the West of England


Thick Skin

Despina Christodoulou and Robert Dalton

University of Leeds


Undergraduate Open


LA Larry

Lauren Clark

University of Central Lancashire



Luke Taylor

Bath Spa University


Vice Versa - Creation

Natasha Hawthornthwaite, Rhodri Carter and Daniel Ridgeon

University of South Wales


Postgraduate Animation



Stephen McNally

Royal College of Art


Pineapple Calamari

Katarzyna Nalewajka, Daniel Negret and Team

National Film and Television School


The Bigger Picture

Daisy Jacobs, Jennifer Majka, Chris Hees and Team

National Film and Television School


Postgraduate Comedy & Entertainment



Serafeim Ntousias, Karin Camarinha and Team

National Film and Television School


School on Report

Lee Otway

York St John University


Secret Studio

James Spokioni, Sipho Sondiyazi and Team

National Film and Television School


Postgraduate Drama


How I Didn't Become a Piano Player

Tommaso Pitta, Christopher Hees and Team

National Film and Television School


Jam Man

John Evans and Lester Hughes

Bangor University



Philip Sheerin, Jacob Thomas and Team

National Film and Television School


Postgraduate Factual


A Wee Night In

Stuart Edwards, Noe Mendelle and Emma Davie

Edinburgh College of Art


Side by Side

Jack Warrender and Team

National Film and Television School


Sing Your Heart Out

Peter Akar and Team

National Film and Television School


Postgraduate Open


First Time

Ryan Vernava and Team

National Film and Television School



Charlotte Boyle

University of Salford


Once She Was Just Like You

Dan Neeson and Team

National Film and Television School


For more details visit the RTS site here

Articles: 29
Reads: 180916
© 2022 is a website of Studee Limited | 15 The Woolmarket, Cirencester, Gloucestershire, GL7 2PR, UK | registered in England No 6842641 VAT # 971692974