Media Partners | Contributors | Advertise | Contact | Log in | Saturday 1 April 2023

AIM Independent Music Awards longlist announced


Share This Article:

The longlist for those in contention for Association of Independent Music (AIM) awards has been released with politically charged punk rockers IDLES and Brit school graduate Jade Bird both in the running for prizes in several categories.

They are joined by a diverse selection of acts, including FKA Twigs, Christine and the Queens, Little Simz, Maribou State and FONTAINES D.C., all of whom are up for awards in two separate fields.

FONTAINES D.C. are in contention for two awards. Image by Daniel Topete via Sonic PR.

Due to take place on 3rd September, the ceremony will see Debbie Harry, lead singer of Blondie, receive an award for her Outstanding Contribution to Music, as well as a performance from rising electro-pop and house star, Georgia, who is nominated twice this year.

Alongside Jade Bird, fellow Brit School alumni Black Midi are up for the best UK Independent Breakthrough act. Their elusive online presence and explosive live shows have earned them a well-deserved reputation as a force to be reckoned with. We enjoyed their experimental debut album, Schlagenheim, last month. They are joined by the jazz group Ezra Collective, Scottish songwriter Gerry Cinnamon, and the seemingly indefatigable IDLES.

Joe Talbot and co. are up against Jade Bird once more in the International category, this time joined by Afrowave pioneer Afro B; silky smooth sophisto-pop producers Maribou State, and singer-songwriter Nilüfer Yanya, who released her guitar-driven debut Miss Universe this year to critical acclaim.

After viral festival antics where he invited a fan up on stage to rap with him, Dave has been nominated for his collaboration with Fredo in ‘Funky Friday’ for the Best Independent Track. He’s joined by FKA Twigs for her comeback single, ‘Cellophane’; FONTAINES D. C.’s swaggering ‘Boys In The Better Land’; Georgia’s ‘About Work The Dancefloor’; JAR VIS (the Pulp frontman’s new solo project) with ‘Must I Evolve’; Jai Paul’s ‘Do You Love Her Now’; experimental AI-wielding Holly Herndon with ‘Eternal’; the infectiously smooth ‘Selfish feat. Celo Sol’ from Little Simz; Sharon Van Etten’s ‘Seventeen’ and Four Tet with ‘Birdsong’.

Singer-songwriter power duo comprised of Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst are up for Best Independent Album in the form of Better Oblivion Community Center’s self-titled debut. They are facing the back-to-back francophone bangers of Christine and the Queens’ Chris, alongside Dave for Psychodrama; FONTAINES D.C. for Dogrel; Frank Carter & The RattlesnakesEnd of Suffering; Jade Bird’s self-titled album; Jordan Rakei’s Origin; Little Simz’ GREY Area; Snapped AnklesStunning Luzury and Swindle’s No Normal.

Amusingly, AIM has a category for “Best [Difficult] Second Album”. Here Erland Cooper of The Magnetic North is nominated for his follow up to Solan Goose, Sule Skerry, which is inspired by his island home of Orkney. He has stiff competition in the form of, once more, IDLES, who followed Brutalism with Joy as an Act of Resistance, as well as Julia Jacklin, Maribou State, and SOAK.

Ones To Watch nominees include Arlo Parks, Barney Artist, Georgia, KOKOROKO and The National Student favourites, Larkins.

Up for Best Independent Music Video are Christine and the Queens for ‘5 Dollars’; Hot Chip’s hilariously high-concept video for ‘Hungry Child’; John Grant’s ‘He’s Got His Mother’s Hips’; Caleb Steph’s ‘Black Boy’ and FKA Twigs’ impressive display of athleticism in the captivating video for ‘Cellophane’.

A panel of music journalists will judge artists, albums and labels in a total of 11 categories and will have to choose from the largest list of nominations to date. The 12th category of Best Live Act will be decided by public vote, which remains open until 31st July.

Lead image: Daniel Topete via Sonic PR

Articles: 29
Reads: 202323
© 2023 is a website of Studee Limited | 15 The Woolmarket, Cirencester, Gloucestershire, GL7 2PR, UK | registered in England No 6842641 VAT # 971692974