Media Partners | Contributors | Advertise | Contact | Log in | Tuesday 16 July 2019

Fresher Sounds – the best new music – 09/04/18


Share This Article:

With last week's weather offering rare (and much needed) glimpses of spring sunshine, the April blues are still, however, very much at bay. Following the new introduction of sugar tax and the ongoing data controversy with Facebook; here's 15 of the best new tracks to see you through the second week of April. 

The Pale White

The Pale White – Loveless (Live Acoustic Version)

After debuting the music video of the original song on YouTube four weeks ago, Newcastle-based trio The Pale White have released an acoustic version of latest single ‘Loveless’. After its original release on llegal Cinema Records, it picked up a plethora of radio plays and Spotify support after being featured on internal playlists. The acoustic version, however, offers a mellow vibe fuelled by a whimsical riff and the vocals of Adam Hope (lead/guitar) in an unconventional yet enjoyable style to their reputable indie-rock sound.

Shallou – Vingette

Taken from the Soul EP (releasing April 27th), D.C-based artist Shallou has shared another single. ‘Vingette’ is accompanied by a nature-orientated music video, combining his wistful echoed vocals with cinematically gentle visuals. Per his previous releases ‘Lie’ and ‘Find’, this further populates his Nomad Series. Driving chilled electronica, ‘Vingette’ is calming, tranceful and positively a song with soul, with FADER stating: “his vulnerability makes him stand out from the pack”.

Calvin Harris & Dua Lipa – One Kiss

‘One Kiss’ sees two huge artists coming together to promisingly create a massive dance yet relaxed tune for summer 2018. With a voice that is recognisable, a carrying beat, and an attitude that resonates perfectly, the slightly unexpected collaboration is a whirlpool of untouchable vocals and moody house beats – ultimately establishing Dua Lipa as an ever-growing artist full of fresh energy.

Fake Laugh – On Loop

Taken from the forthcoming two-track 7 inch, out on April 30th, Fake Laugh (aka Kamran Khan) has shared the second song, ‘On Loop’. Set against a backdrop of melancholic guitars, ‘On Loop’ explores themes of monotony, being interrupted by a somewhat monologue halfway through the song to reflect a dream state. As suggested by the name, it is a song about repeated actions, shimmering with melodic patterns.

FEVA – Makin’ Waves

Following widespread praise after the release of their debut single late last year, Newcastle-based indie rockers FEVA return with ‘Makin’ Waves’ – a track full of high-octane riffs, and vocals begging to be sung by crowds at live shows. The band stated: “Makin’ Waves is somewhat of an ode to the free spirit, making your own decisions and making your own waves in life regardless of what is considered the norm. It’s an uplifting feel-good track and what better time to release with summer not (too) far away.”

Peace – You Don’t Walk Away From Love

‘You Don’t Walk Away From Love’ is the latest track to be released from Peace’s forthcoming third album, Kindness Is The New Rock and Roll. Inspired by frontman Harry Koisser’s search for love, the confidently riff-heavy anthem is described by the band as: “the colours of the heart that live under the cool pastels and the monochrome chequers. It’s about the bright primary stubbornness & unsophisticated optimism that won’t stop squirming toward true love.”

Fabian Luttenberger – See U Care

Despite being a fairly new artist to the indie-electronic scene, ‘See U Care’ sees Austrian DJ and producer Fabian Luttenberger bringing sophistication experimentation to the genre. The abstract vocals of Alma Elste merge seamlessly amongst dreamy synthesizers, overall making the track feel ethereal and distorted yet extremely listenable.

John Newman x Sigala – Fire in Me Remix

Both being notable artists, John Newman’s ‘Fire in Me’ has been reworked by the incredible Sigala. The two have worked together before with massive platinum single ‘Give Me Your Love’, which featured John and the legendary Nile Rogers; however, Sigala had never remixed an original song for another artist to date. Released in time for summer, the new ‘Fire in Me’ remix is guaranteed to light up dancefloors and stages in months to come, with this banger sparking a real feel-good vibe.

Friendly Fires – Love Like Waves

With a huge amount of weight accompanying the band’s return after 7 years since their last album, ‘Love Like Waves’ is the perfect tropical indie-funk anthem. The lead single from album three is comparable to the days of ‘Jump in the Pool’, being carried by carefree drums and a heady synth style to make an extremely fun danceable track.

Leo Stannard – Home

Multi-instrumentalist singer-songwriter Leo Stannard recently released the video of his latest track ‘Home’. Being more than just a singer with a guitar, ‘Home’ has a really short and sweet tone alongside singable nostalgic lyrics to complement his soulful voice.  Speaking about the track, Leo says: “the song is all about making home in an unfamiliar place. For me, it was moving from Leicester to London and building up a new kind of life in London to make the city feel home with friends, relationships, career-related things and everything else that goes into life.”

Laura Welsh – Atomised

Having featured on the soundtrack to 2017 Hungarian-American romantic fantasy, Fallen, Laura Welsh released her track ‘Atomised’ on April 5th. Undoubtedly unearthing itself through fan requests to hear the track after it’s origin, ‘Atomised’ showcases Laura Welsh’s stunning, ethereal vocals in a song about lost communication and overcoming fears.

Ben Howard – A Boat To An Island On The Wall

Following a break since his second album release in 2014, Ben Howard has returned with an experimental folk single as the first taste of his long-awaited third album. ‘A Boat To An Island On The Wall’ is a seven-minute work soaked in creaking effects, making it largely more feral and vulnerable than the upbeat hooks of previous singles such as “Keep Your Head Up”. The album, Noonday Dream, is released on June 1st.

Pizzagirl – Seabirds

With a number of electronic tracks to his name, Pizzagirl has released standalone single ‘Seabirds’ in the run-up to his debut EP, An Extended Play. Both his music and visuals have been described as ‘an extroversion of 80s electronica, late 90s culture, and US East Coast sad-indie introversion’; all of which ‘Seabirds’ encompasses through its relaxed melody and melancholy lyrics.

Hatchie – Sugar & Spice

Hatchie, known within the genre of indie-pop, has released new single ‘Sugar & Spice’ in anticipation for the debut EP entitled that of the same name. Alongside a colourful video, ‘Sugar & Spice’ is a combination of hazy, jangly, atmospheric guitars and propulsive rhythms beneath undeniable pop melodies. There is an ease to her music, recalling comparisons to Cocteau Twins and Slowdive.

Jo Passed – Millennial Trash Blues

Vancouver-based quartet Jo Passed have shared the second single and video from their debut LP Their Prime, being released May 25th worldwide. Director Justin Gradin describes the video as “A nightmare on the tip of an eyelash. An astrological garbage dump with burning snowflakes and a trap door. A wild teen awake in someone else’s dream” – yes, this is like a freakish dream in the best possible way. ‘Millennial Trash Blues’ can be broadly defined as psychedelic garage punk, with a modern twist on a 90s vibe.

© 2019 is a website of BigChoice Group Limited | 201 Borough High Street, London, SE1 1JA | registered in England No 6842641 VAT # 971692974