Media Partners | Contributors | Advertise | Contact | Log in | Saturday 28 January 2023

And The Unsigned Music Awards nominees are...


Share This Article:

The Unsigned Music Awards annually celebreates the achievements of unsigned artists who they feel deserved to be acknowledged for their choice to remain independent, or who are yet to be discovered.

Following an exclusive nominations launch party held in London’s Soho on Monday night, the official shortlisted nominees for The Unsigned Music Awards 2018 have been announced. The shortlist was voted on by a panel of 100 professionals and influences throughout the UK's music industry all the way from A&Rs to music editors. This year the awards have teamed up with Live Nation and The Great Escape Festival to celebrate all that is indepedent.

Here's the list of 2018 nominees.

Best Urban Act


Raheem Bakare

Kojey Radical

Josh Barry


Best Rock Act (sponsored by Strange Place)


People The Poet

The Harlers

Saint Agnes

The Bay Rays

These Wicked Rivers

Laura Oakes

Best Country / Folk Act (sponsored by Ticketmaster & Universe)

Adam Beattie

Katy Hurt

Laura Oaks

Danni Nicholls

Ferris & Sylvester

Best Jazz / Blues Act

Ezra Collective

Oscar Jerome


Ruby Rushton

Poppy Ajudha

Best Songwriter

Harry Pane

Jorja Smith

Albert Gold


Violet Skies

Best Produced Record

Ginger Snaps - Number Crunching

Jalen N’Gonda - Why I Try

Strong Asian Mothers - Animal

Cattle & Cane - Mirrors

Le Flex - The Dancefloor Suite

Best Music Video (sponsored by Fastrax)

Dave - Question Time

Poppy Ajudha ft Kojey Radical - Spilling Into You

Femme - Fire With Fire

Foreign Beggars - Bosh

Eyre Llew - Atelo

Best International Music Video (sponsored by YouTube)

Jarami - Hear This

Gus Dapperton - Prune, You Talk Funny

Charlotte Day Wilson - Work

Fletcher - You Should Talk

Beissoul & Einius - Lion

Best Female Solo Act (sponsored by Nasty Gal)

Jorja Smith

Violet Skies

Joy Crookes

Maisie Peters

Suzi Wu

Best Male Solo Act:

Kojey Radical

Rex Orange County

Bruno Major

Benny Mails


Best International Record (sponsored by Shazam)

Stella Donnelly - Thrush Metal

Siv Jakobsen - The Nordic Mellow

Steve Lacy - Steve Lacy’s Demo

Vérité - Somewhere In Between

Gus Dapperton - Yellow and Such

Best Record (sponsored by BIMM)

Bruno Major - Song For Every Moon

Tom Misch - 5 Day Mischon

IDLES - Brutalism

Toddla T - Foreign Light

Jorja Smith - Project 11

Elder Island - Seeds In Sand

Best Electronic Act (sponsored by Mood Media)

Wide Awake

Elder Island

Catching Flies



Best Live Act (sponsored by Live Nation)

Stereo Honey


Bang Bang Romeo

Sam Fender

Strange Bones

UMA Choice Award (sponsored by UMA Music)

Too Many T’s

The Kings Parade

Rina Sawayama


Bang Bang Romeo

The Unsigned Music Awards will take place on 16th May, 2018 at the Brighton Centre. The awards show will open up The Great Escape Festival. 

Articles: 29
Reads: 196915
© 2023 is a website of Studee Limited | 15 The Woolmarket, Cirencester, Gloucestershire, GL7 2PR, UK | registered in England No 6842641 VAT # 971692974